Exit site Click here, or press the ‘esc’ key to exit this site quickly

National Helpline for LGBT+ Victims and Survivors of Abuse and Violence0800 999 5428

Email help@galop.org.uk

Home Forums I’m Still Standing

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Lancashire Lad
    Participant

Hello there, I’m new to the Galop website and I joined in the hopes of meeting other people who have been in similar situations to me. Probably not exactly the same of course, but there’ll be common threads. I want to share my story if I may, trigger warnings to do with abuse.

I was in an abusive relationship for around two years, though it felt much longer. I don’t tend to talk about it with friends and family because they either don’t know what to do or say, or in the case of some of them, can say some pretty unempathetic things. “Things like suggesting that I couldn’t possibly have post traumatic stress disorder because the relationship was only two years long. How could someone still have an effect on you nearly a decade later?”

If he had punched me or something I think it would have been easier for everyone all round, it’s a lot more cut and dried if an abusive partner beats ten bells out of you. If it’s all emotional and psychological and financial abuse though – that’s not quite as obvious. Back then I don’t think there was such a thing as “gas lighting” or at least, I’d never heard of it and there was nothing in the law about it.